32oz.ofWater = A baby foot and other adventures

baby foot2

Today I was scheduled for my second ultrasound. 🙂 I was really excited to see baby and get some good pictures. But, that meant, I had to chug 32 oz. of water in one hour without peeing! Not my favorite.

My appointment was at 10:30, so the chugging began at 9:30. Surprisingly, I did fairly well drinking the water. I think I even had 20 minutes to spare. Moving from the car to the office, not so easy. It was then my body panicked and said, “find a bathroom, you’re gonna explode!” And then I had to argue with my body, and my mind said, “Nope, must see baby!”

Well, I get there and was seen at my scheduled time. This is it…the moment I have been waiting for in the past two months. Well, she goes on to look at stuff, the placenta, measuring the baby’s head, looking at the spine, the tail bone, the brain. All that good stuff. Baby has a lot of brain,  a strong spine, bones are set—baby has grown for sure!

By the way I couldn’t really see the screen, sort of but with my head all twisted.

I am dismissed to empty my bladder. Ah,  that felt so much better.

So, when I returned from the restroom we continued the ultrasound. I couldn’t wait to get some pictures. Well, the technician showed me more brain, more spine and at this point I just wanted to see the baby whole. I had no idea what I was looking at half of the time. Or it seemed like I was looking at the same thing over and over. Finally she showed me a hand (long fingers) and a foot. She did show me the baby’s face, but it was upside down so I couldn’t make it out. So, she says we’re done and I’m disappointed because she only took a picture of the baby’s foot and a face I can’t make out.  Bummer. I feel like I didn’t even really see the baby, just alot of body parts.  Granted, the baby is pretty active. The baby kept on moving to show his or her brain. The lady kept saying, “Okay we know you have alot of brain, now let me see face.” So, that was that.

Now, we’re heading to an appointment Kris has and I decide to wait in the car and sulk and mope because I didn’t get good pictures. As, I am looking through the two pictures, a man walks up to the car and asks me for change. I politely say, I do not have any, as I don’t carry cash with me (just plastic). The man tells me he is hungry and that he is looking for food. I offer him some almonds we had in the car. Man shows me that he has very few teeth. I spot a KFC across the street and offer to buy him a meal. As we cross the street and enter KFC, this man tells me he hasn’t eaten in 2 days! Wow, 2 days! I immediately want to offer this man the whole menu. I ask him what he wants and he is overwhelmed by how much food there is. He says he doesn’t know, so I get him the biggest meal deal- 4 sides, a biscuit, 4 pieces grilled chicken and a drink. As we waited, I find out his name is Jim. We shake hands, and he thanks me profoundly for the food. I tell him it is not a problem and ask if he wants anything else. Jim just wants to talk. So, Jim tells me of his situation, of his pain. I listen. Not sure what to say. Then the cashier  presents Jim with a bag FILLED with food. I think she threw in a few extras in there. 🙂 Jim’s eyes widen and he smiles.

We walk back across the street and I tell him, I want him to meet my husband Kris. So, we talk some more. I share with him God’s promises. 1 Peter 5: 10 and Ephesians 6:10. He is touched that I share these verses with him.

When Kris was done we pray with him and offer him a bag, with a blanket, a couple bananas,  a church card, and our contact info. He is tearing. Says thank you again.

I knew then, that this day was not about me and the pictures. God had something bigger planned. I thanked God for Jim’s life. And thanked God for today. Here I was sulking over not getting enough pictures, when Jim hadn’t eaten in two days.

As we pull away, I see Jim sitting under a tree, digging into his meal. Praise God, there is so much to rejoice in.

4 Responses to “32oz.ofWater = A baby foot and other adventures”

  1. rain2rainbows Says:

    What a great story! Thank you so much for sharing this! I’m sorry that you didn’t get the pictures of your baby on this trip, but I am so glad to hear that God blessed you with a picture of his faithfulness! There will be so much time for pictures and to stare at this beautiful person that God has knit together inside you… how fantastic that you took this day and time to really SEE Jim as God sees him.. and to respond how you have. That stewardship of grace and resources is exactly who God is entrusting you with this life!!!

  2. Debbie Says:

    You are such a brave good person! You make me feel so proud for your mother and father. You fed his soul and his body. Like rain2rainbows said what a great story!

  3. Lex Says:

    Great afternoon/story! You’re an awesome lady, Jess.

  4. Amy Says:

    Wow Jessica!

    I am so proud of you! You have such a sweet servant heart! Your story made me cry. We sometimes forget that we are not here for ourselves but to be used by God for His purposes.

    Awesome!
    I miss you girlie, hope to see you soon!

Leave a Reply

